Christy

Submit Your Testimonial

Christy

Before having hip arthroscopic surgery, I had been in constant pain for well over a year. The pain started in one area and moved to other muscles within the same area. I had seen multiple doctor's before meeting with Dr. Ryan Miyamoto. I was given a variety of muscular skeletal diagnoses, including hernia, groin strain and lower back/SI joint issues. I went to physical therapy, rested a lot and took over the counter pain medications, all of which did nothing to alleviate the pain. After physical therapy proved unsuccessful, I saw Dr. Miyamoto who immediately suspected a labral tear due to the symptoms I was describing. He sent me for further testing, x-rays, an arthrogram and an MRI with dye contrast. All the tests proved that I did have a fairly significant labral tear, along with a CAM Impingement.

One of the many things I like about Dr. Miyamoto is the conservative medical approach he took before suggesting something as extensive as surgery. I did several more weeks of physical therapy, along with a cortisone shot. Both of these treatments not only proved to be unsuccessful at alleviating my pain, but the pain seemed to get worse. Upon another visit with Dr. Miyamoto, it was agreed surgery would probably be the best recommendation to resolving my issue. In a profession where the “bedside manner” is not always apparent, Dr. Miyamoto and his staff proved very much so that this trait is still existent. They were flexible when scheduling my surgery, took the time to answer any and all questions I had regarding the procedure without rushing me out the door and made what can be an anxious event comfortable and without worry. At the end, my surgery proved very successful. I had a few days of discomfort, but little to no pain post operatively. Dr. Miyamoto's rehab protocol is extensive, but well worth all the work in the end. Once again, Dr. Miyamoto does a wonderful job with follow up appointments in regards to allowing plenty of time to ask questions and also provides honest feedback.

On a personal note, words cannot begin to describe how thankful I am to Dr. Miyamoto. With his help, my determination and perseverance, I feel like I have returned to my former glory and then some. I have lost over 20 lbs, my energy level is so much higher than it was and I truly feel like a brand new person. My quality of life and overall health is the best it has been in years. Not only do I think Dr. Miyamoto is a gifted and talented surgeon, but I have to say what impresses me the most about him is his bedside manner. To highlight just one of the many examples of his personable approach, Dr. Miyamoto held my hand to ease the normal fear I was having as I went under the anesthetic, an action that not only shows the sincere care he has for his patients, but also the humanity that can sometimes be lacking in a profession that sees many faces. I would highly recommend Dr. Ryan Miyamoto for hip arthroscopic surgery. His demeanor and attention to detail set him apart from any other doctor I have ever had.

 

 

UPDATE: It has been almost two and half years since my hip surgery. I am now an active runner who enjoys running 5k, 10k and half marathon races. Hill and trail races are my personal favorites because I enjoy a challenge. I am also preparing to run my first marathon. In addition to running, I practice yoga several times a week, and I recently started teaching yoga to CrossFit athletes and trainers. Thank you again, Dr. Miyamoto for helping me get back to the active lifestyle that I enjoy so much!

 

 
Ryan G. Miyamoto, M.D., FAAOS - Orthopaedic Surgeon   Oaks Orthopaedic Associates, Inc   best-washingtonian-2015   best-washingtonian-2016   appointment-number-img
Ryan G. Miyamoto, M.D., FAAOS - Orthopaedic Surgeon
Ryan G. Miyamoto, M.D., FAAOS - Orthopaedic Surgeon
Dr. Ryan G. Miyamoto is a board certified orthopaedic surgeon who specializes...
Ryan G. Miyamoto, M.D., FAAOS - Orthopaedic Surgeon
 
Restoring
Your Active Life
Patient Testimonial
           - Patrick Goulding

Patient Info

Submit Your Testimonial Patient Testimonials

 

I wanted to thank you for the guidance, proper diagnosis and care in getting through surgery as well as the recovery process with my hip surgery in September 2016. After dealing with missed diagnosis from other physicians and a lot of unnecessary physical therapy for almost a year, I finally made my way to your office. What I received was a straightforward diagnosis, prompt attention and a welcome staff throughout the process. You yourself, Dr. Miyamoto, took the time to assess when the symptoms weren't clear but quickly got to some suggestions that were right for me. When surgery for the labral tendon tear seemed to be the only option, you took the time to walk through the surgery and the implications. The care of the team at Fair Oaks throughout the surgery process was outstanding and Dr. Miyamoto even took the time out of his schedule to call in check in on my recovery over the weekend two days after surgery. Post Op was thorough and on the aggressive schedule that I wanted to get back to fitness and my normal life. In doing so, I set my own goal of wanting to do my first small triathlon the following year. I hadn't been able to do any running for almost two years due to the injury and with the right guidance on recovery and physical therapy, I completed the M22 Challenge in Sleeping Bear Dunes National Park in Northern Michigan in June 2017. Thanks for getting my life back on track with ease and with such proper, professional care. I would highly recommend Dr. Miyamoto and his team as they are the best.

M22 Challenge Mini Triathalon

 

- Loren A

 


 

I tore my rotator cuff on February 14th, 2015. I was due to deploy six days later. Dr. Miyamoto not only worked me into his schedule but had completely repaired my shoulder in two weeks. Four months later I was cleared for full range of motion. Two months later I was tagged for another deployment and am now fully functional and forward deployed. 60lbs gear and heavy equipment is no problem. Thank you Dr. Miyamoto for the amazing work!!

Nick

 

- Nick G

 


 

I recently had my 1 year follow-up visit with Dr. Miyamoto. He performed a total left shoulder replacement in October of 2014. I am doing things with my left arm that I was unable to do for quite a while, pain free. I am thankful and amazed.

I was 61 at the time of the operation. I am in law enforcement and lead an active life style. I was truly worried about the end results and if I would be able to continue in my career and life as I wanted. When the pain became too much for me to bare and with a very good recommendation from my neighbor, I went and saw Dr. Miyamoto. He examined me and my MRI and gave me the options. Partial, total replacements, no pressure but very reassuring and a great bedside manner. He gives you as much time as you need and even has a good sense of humor. Amazing for such a talented doc.

Well the surgery came on 10/3/14 at fairoaks hospital, great place and staff. Dr. Miyamoto came in and visited and it was off to sleepy land. I awoke in my room with my arm in a big sling and a pain pump installed in my shoulder. The doc visited me in my room and again prior to my release the next morning. They kept me on pain meds through the night and I do not think it hurt ever again. The worst part was pulling off the tape that held the pain pump tube on for 3 days, I was not happy about that. But everything went smooth, he said my shoulder was worse than the pictures showed, but the surgery went well. 

Well I was using my leaf blower 5 days after the surgery, the doc was not totally happy about that. I had almost stopped using any pain meds within a week and I went into the physical therapy with a desire to get back in the ball game as soon as I could.

I only missed 2 weeks of work, because the doc would not let me go back till he did his 10 day examination. Within the next month I attended p/t regularly and the doc’s handy work held through all the grunts and groans. After feeling great and pain free, I had a 6 week follow-up with Dr. Miyamoto. He checked me out and was very pleased with my progress and agreed to allow me to return to full duty. I had to see the county doctor and after a tuff checkup and exam she said it’s a medical miracle and cleared me for full duty.

I would have had the surgery sooner, if I knew how great it would have turned out.

I have recommended another worker to Dr. Miyamoto. He also had a full replacement and is doing well.
The doc is an excellent surgeon and a great person to deal with. If you are suffering, get it done. (remember results may vary and may not be the same for all patients; see your medical provider for additional details.) A little humor.

My name is Steve and I will gladly speak to you if you have any questions for a satisfied customer.

Steve

 

- Steve

 


 

I cannot recall an exact moment when I knew I had done something wrong to my hip. The pain came one day and wouldn’t go away. It became so bad that I wasn’t able to pitch more than an inning without being in unbearable pain. When I initially learned that I had torn my labrum, I was devastated as basketball season was rapidly approaching. The doctor said that I would be out for 4 to 6 months and would definitely miss the entire first half of the season. However, when I visited Dr. Miyamoto, he was always encouraging and spoke about how if I worked hard I would be able to return less time.

On the day of the surgery, he was punctual, friendly and made every step of the procedure clear. After the surgery he was in constant communication with my parents, even dealing with my mother’s questions via text messaging.

Less than 3 months after surgery, I was back on the basketball court and, the following year, had the opportunity to play at Virginia Commonwealth University for a State Title. In baseball, I was able to pitch entire games en-route to two all-district performances. I am currently attending Duke University where I am studying computer engineering.

Thank you Dr. Miyamoto.

Michael Scruggs

- Michael Scruggs

 


 

I received a reverse shoulder replacement in May and have made a full speedy recovery. Dr. Miyamoto  is my miracle worker and a great surgeon. I first saw him early 2014 with arthritis in my left shoulder. My arm was immobile and painful. I could not do ordinary daily activities if they involved the left arm. And, I was driving with one hand. Surgery was not an option then due to my age (80) and other medical issues. I was in physical therapy and getting cortisone shots every four months but still no improvement. This year Dr. Miyamoto discussed possible surgery as an option. I chose the surgery and have made a remarkable recovery. I have full use of the arm with minor limitation. The physical therapy received after surgery was an important part of my recovery to gain full range of motion.  

From start to finish Dr. Miyamoto discussed everything with me always explaining the options and the expected results. All questions were answered and concerns addressed. I would gladly recommend him to any person with joint problems because I believe he will help them where possible.

Barbara Smyth

- Barbara Smyth

 


 

I first messed up my left knee my sophomore year of football and it seemed like it healed during the offseason, so I continued to play on my left knee my junior year of football and then it 'buckled' on me like it did in the past so that is when the trainer and myself knew something was wrong. I got an MRI and I found out that I tore my ACL and meniscus in my left knee and I was devastated to hear the news. I visited two other doctors, but they really didn't explain anything about the surgery or what I was to expect from it. I eventually saw Dr. Miyamoto and he was very helpful and understanding of how I felt, I knew then and there that choosing Dr.Miyamoto to perform my surgery was the right choice. I haven't regretted that decision ever since! The knee feels great and the knee gave me no problems during the football season. Dr. Miyamoto gave me a brace that worked great and although it smelled bad at times due to me being too lazy to wash it, I felt confident to play the sport that I enjoy because I knew that my knee would not 'give out' or 'buckle' on me. I highly recommend that anyone who has the type of injury I had or any other injury, to go see Dr. Miyamoto and get it fixed!

Andrew Schifalacqua

Congratulations to Andrew for earning Virginia 6A North All-Conference honors!

- Andrew Schifalacqua

 


 

In September, 2012, during travel soccer season of my high school junior year, I started to have severe problems with my left hip. I went to one doctor who performed an x-ray on my hip but nothing showed up. I continued physical therapy but the pain still persisted. My physical therapist thought I might have torn my labrum. I was referred to Dr. Miyamoto in late January, 2013. Dr. Miyamoto had me get an MRI which showed that I had torn my labrum in my left hip. I was devastated because I thought I wouldn't be able to play soccer for my high school in the spring. Dr. Miyamoto allowed me to play in the spring and that June I had arthroscopic surgery. Following surgery, I was on crutches for two weeks and then was given Dr. Miyamoto's permission to try walking (but no running). I then was in physical therapy for 5 months and returned to playing soccer in mid-October. In a matter of weeks, I was back to playing like myself again, with no pain at all!

Dr. Miyamoto was caring, very personable and easy to talk to, and patiently answered all of my questions so I could understand the entire process. His "bedside manner" was very comforting to me and helped alleviate any fears I had with the surgery. He said that he was going to follow my senior season to see how I was performing but I thought he was just being nice when he said that. He actually would send me emails during the season to see how I was doing! How many doctors do that?

I can't thank Dr. Miyamoto enough for all he did for me. Without his help, I wouldn't have been able to have a great senior season and be pain free. Thank you, Dr. Miyamoto!

Devan

- Devan

 


 

I injured my shoulder training for MMA. After seeing numerous doctors with no improvement I searched online for someone who specialized in sports related injuries. Dr. Miyamoto stood out and was very knowledgable about my injury from the beginning. After 18 months without being able to workout, he examined my shoulder and explained my treatment options. We decided to avoid surgery and instead he gave me a cortisone shot that relieved my pain and allowed me to get back to training only 3 days later. In addition I've seen him for a groin injury which he helped me to overcome. Thanks to him I am now pain free and preparing for my professional MMA debut.

Ashley Weakley   Ashley WeakleyAshley Weakley   Ashley Weakley

UPDATE: While training for my professional MMA debut, I injured my shoulder further which required me to have surgery to repair my labrum. Dr. Miyamoto did my surgery in November 2012 which required 5 anchors to repair my shoulder. I had an excellent recovery and was able to return to light workouts with my shoulder only 3 months after surgery. It's now been a little over a year, and although I decided not to continue competing in MMA, I've been able to go back to training full time and have almost regained my pre-surgery strength.I honestly couldn't be happier with the outcome of my surgery.

- Ashley "Baby Tyger" Weakley
www.babytyger.com

 


 

3 days post-op of my ACL reconstruction surgery I started my physical therapy. With hard work I was about 85% back to normal in about 2 months and just needed to continue to strengthen my leg so I could be completely back to normal. A little more than 8 months post-op I was completely cleared to do everything including snowboard and play soccer. Now I am a little over 2 years post-op and I feel far better than I did even before surgery. I snowboard very often in the winter and have take up rock-climbing in the warmer months.

- Michael Gennaro

 


 

Let me start by saying that Dr. Miyamoto is a great doctor. After spending months going to different doctors and sports medicine specialists who did not really seem to understand my situation and incapable of giving me a diagnosis, Dr. Miyamoto sat down and listened to what I had to say and gave me some options about my problem. It turned out I had a labral tear in my left hip. As a ballerina, hips are quite important because of the wide range of movement required of the body.

I initially had hip problems as a result of strenuous training, and then I was in an All-Terrain Vehicle accident which resulted in crutches and severe pain. Once I was able to walk again, I went back to dancing. Over that year, my senior year of high school, the pain worsened and I had to do something. Of course, I had cortisone shots and an MRI before even meeting Dr. Miyamoto. I went for another MRI and my next visit, Dr. Miyamoto told me I had a labral tear and we decided I needed surgery. A week after graduation, I had my surgery to repair and clean out the area.

After about 3 months of a strict recovery regiment and a year of serious retraining, I am moving to Nashville to work with Nashville Ballet! I am very proud of how far I have improved since those painful days, and I have Dr. Miyamoto and my amazing Physical Therapist, Ashleigh Neal, to thank for all of it. I have already referred a few of my friends and coaches to Dr. Miyamoto and they agree that he is just wonderful!

Amy Breeding   Amy Breeding

-Katrina Huckerby

 


 

In the summer of 2011, I started having a lot of groin pain, as well many strained muscles in my hip right hip. As a 17 year old, whom always been active in sports, I could not pinpoint what was causing this pain.  There were no sports injuries or accidents I could recall. 

Over time, I went to multiple sports medicine doctors that specialized in hip injuries, with no resolve.  By late fall, I went to see Dr. Miyamoto, who was recommended by a family friend.   As a result of an MRI, it was determined I had a labrum tear.  Dr. Miyamoto wanted to take the treatment of the injury slowly and make surgery our last resort. After about 6 months of physical therapy and a cortisone injection, I was in so much pain; we decided to go through with a hip arthroscopy.   I could no longer tie my shoes or sleep comfortably.  The time had come!  Dr. Miyamoto found that the cause of my problem was the Femuroacetabular impingement. This was a malformed hip joint which I was probably born with. Dr. Miyamoto shaved down my femur head was well as fixing the torn labrum. After my surgery, Dr. Miyamoto gave me a very thorough explanation of what was wrong with my hip, and it made a lot of sense to me.  He took many pictures of the inside of my joint, which made it easy to comprehend why I had been in such distress.    I was extremely impressed with the recovery packet/physical therapy model he put together for me.  I knew exactly what was ahead.  In the end, the recovery was simple and successful.

I am in college today, two years after my surgery. I am very physically active, without restrictions.  I play intramural soccer, go to the gym for two hours a day, have skied out west, and play tennis in my free time.  My hip feels fantastic, and actually, better than it was when it was healthy before my surgery.

Dr. Miyamoto is a great doctor.  Not only is he extremely intelligent, he is also very helpful and personable. He makes the recovery easy and is there every step along the way to help you if you need him. I am so thankful I chose Dr. Miyamoto as my doctor so I could get back to my life. Thanks Dr. Miyamoto!

Meredith McGovern

 

- Meredith McGovern

 


 

Labral Tear and Hip Impingement

Beginning in Spring of 2012, I started having constant pain in my right hip during everyday activities from getting out of the car to lifting my leg. After several recommendations, I went to see Dr. Miyamoto who had a good idea of what was wrong after I first described my symptoms. He sent me in for an MRI and a cortisone injection, which confirmed that I did have a torn labrum in my right hip. When the cortisone injection didn't work, I opted for surgery and in November 2012, and Dr. Miyamoto went in to sand down my hip joint, which was causing the tear, and then repair the labral tears.

After a mandatory two weeks on crutches, I was able to walk with no problem, and better yet, no pain. Physical therapy went smoothly as did all of my post-op appointments. Within a month, I was weeks ahead in my recovery than originally expected. Less than two months after surgery, I began running on a treadmill with my physical therapist. Five months after surgery, I ran my first half marathon, the Nike Women's Half Marathon in Washington DC.

Dr. Miyamoto is an amazing doctor and I'd recommend him to anybody. During every visit from pre to post-op, he always took the time to explain what was happening and what to expect. Even more importantly, he listened to all of my concerns and worked with me to get me back to the level of activity I wanted. I'm extremely happy with the results and have had zero of the previous hip pain since I had surgery.

Amy Breeding   Amy Breeding

-Amy Breeding

 


What was your injury?

Femoroacetabular impingement and a labral tear in the left hip.

What were the symptoms and difficulty you were having as a result?

I had pain during exercise, especially while playing soccer and dancing. My injury impacted the length of time I could exercise as well as how vigorous the activity could be. While dancing, my flexibility was significantly impacted and I could not hold my leg above 90 degrees without pain. I also had difficulty sitting for more than 30 minutes without discomfort.

Let us know how Dr. Miyamoto was able to diagnose and treat your injury.

Dr. Miyamoto ordered an MRI and then was able to diagnose me with FAI and a labral tear in my left hip. In addition, he performed a physical evaluation and asked me about my symptoms, my current activity level and my future goals for my active life. He very clearly presented treatment options and
wanted to make sure I fully understood my condition and the surgery and recovery and was willing to answer all of my questions. I felt very confident with my decision to receive arthroscopic surgery because of Dr. Miyamoto's willingness to discuss the treatment thoroughly with me.

Finally, we would like to know the outcome of your surgery and how you are doing today.

Today, I am in college, majoring in dance as well as playing soccer for my school's club team, so I am active nearly everyday of the week. I have absolutely no pain in my hip and have returned to full activity as if I was never injured.

Hannah Colopy

- Hannah Colopy

 


 

I had a labral tear in my right hip. I had severe pain in my hip joint whenever I did any major physical activity. I am a dancer and have been dancing for nineteen years. I even majored in jazz dance in college so I was very active everyday. Having a labral tear made it very hard for me to take class on a regular basis. I was having constant hip pain whenever I would kick my leg up or do anything involving flexibility.

Since I have been training my whole life to be a professional dancer this hip injury really made me worried about my future as a dancer, especially because I was about to graduate college and start my professional career. I had been sent to Dr. Miyamoto by recommendation after looking for a new hip surgeon. He clearly saw the tear on my MRI and informed me that I could have arthroscopic surgery to repair the tear. I was very hesitant to have this surgery because I had already had hip surgery two years ago on my left hip by another doctor to also repair a labral tear. That surgery was an open hip surgery and way more invasive than arthroscopic surgery.

The first surgery took me about a year to completely recover and get back my full range of motion. It was an extremely slow and painful process that I did not want to go through again. Dr. Miyamoto informed me that arthroscopic surgery would be a lot easier and definitely a better option for someone who was extremely active. After having the surgery I was so surprised at the recovery process. I was on crutches for half the amount of time as the first surgery and I even started physical therapy only three days after surgery. This was very exciting and encouraging for me because I had to wait six weeks to start physical therapy after the first surgery.

The arthroscopic surgery was so much less painful than the first one. I started dancing a little over three months after my surgery. Once I got my hip to loosen up I couldn’t believe how fast my range of motion was coming back. Now, a year after surgery, I have to say I couldn’t be happier with the results. It’s so amazing for me to take dance class or have long rehearsals with absolutely no hip pain. My hip feels better then it ever did and I owe it all to Dr. Miyamoto. Without him I would not be able to pursue my dream of being a professional dancer. I was even able to join a dance company called the LA Follies where our main dance style is kicklines! We do eye-high kicks in every routine and I can’t imagine being a part of this company if I didn’t have this hip surgery. I am very grateful and confident in my future as a professional dancer now thanks to Dr. Miyamoto!

Melanie Cresson

- Melanie Cresson
www.lafollies.com/melanie-cresson
www.lafollies.com/about-us

 


 

On April 29th 2010, I was diagnosed with osteochondrosis and osteochondral defects of the left knee, the longest being 3 cm by 2 cm (requiring May 5th, 2010' surgery). And then again, November 18th, 2010'(after 6 months of intense physical therapy/rehabilitation), I was diagnosed with Osteochondrosis and Osteonecrosis of my right knee (requiring 6 weeks of non weight bearing walking/crutches and subsequent June 15th, 2011' surgery.) On the November 2010' injury/diagnosis (to try and see if the lesions would heal themselves, thus avoiding another surgery), I was placed on non-weight bearing walking/crutches to no avail.

I was having sharp pains in the knees, swelling and extreme stiffness.

Dr. Miyamoto took X-rays, MRI and CT scans (both injuries required surgery). During surgery, a Nerve Block was used both for pain management and anesthesia, cadaver bone with attached cartilage and absorbable screws where also used/needed for stabilization. Post op required an over night stay (for May, 5th, 2010' surgery only), use of "Game Ready" and "CPM" machines where used following both the May, 5th, 2010' and June, 15th, 2011' surgeries, playing a huge part in my recovery. Physical therapy was the biggest contributor to recovery, as Dr. Miyamoto had a very strong/close professional relationship with them. The ladies that helped me rehab were all great people and I still have a strong relationship with them.

I had a great senior lacrosse season at Oakton high school. Now I am off to play college lacrosse at Arizona State University. I didn't know what to expect but I knew I had one of the best doctors that I could ever have.

I greatly appreciate Dr. Miyamoto's skills in and out of the operating room; he is a really cool guy. I truly appreciate the fact that Dr. Miyamoto initially did not want to do surgery on my right knee and try to let it heal naturally by having me use crutches and be non-weight bearing for 6 weeks. It was a rough time for both my family and me but Dr. Miyamoto always made it a pleasure to see him and to work with him. He always was good at communicating with us he's a very hands on doctor. He made it possible for me to continue playing the one game that means so very much to me, Lacrosse! Many thanks' Dr. Miyamoto!!!!

Patrick Goulding   Patrick Goulding

Patrick Goulding   Patrick Goulding

 

- Patrick Goulding
Attack, Oakton HS
Committed to Arizona State

 


 

What was your injury?

Femoracetabular impingement at the right hip joint.

What were the symptoms and difficulty you were having as a result?

My symptoms included general hip pain following exercise, sharp hip pain during certain hip movements and hip discomfort when sitting for longer than 30 minutes. After learning about the long-term physical implications associated with the condition, I experienced mental anxiety about the health of my hip and my ability to lead the highly active lifestyle that I enjoy.

Let us know how Dr. Miyamoto was able to diagnose and treat your injury.

I became a patient of Dr. Miyamoto while looking for a second opinion on options for addressing my hip condition. I brought an X-ray and MRI of my hip to my first appointment. Dr. Miyamoto reviewed both, performed a physical evaluation of my hip and interviewed me about my symptoms, exercise history, and my current/future physical activity goals. Based on this information, Dr. Miyamoto presented the available treatment options and associated risks. He presented the information objectively, addressed my concerns candidly and provided ample time & attention to exhaust all of my questions. Ultimately, I elected to undergo a hip scope to prevent further damage to my hip while pursuing my highly active lifestyle.

Dr. Miyamoto's office provided the necessary paperwork to my insurance company. The surgery was approved and scheduled within two weeks. I felt prepared for the surgery itself and the rehabilitation protocol to be followed afterwards. Surgery went exactly as Dr. Miyamoto had explained. I left the hospital with his contact information should any unforeseen issue arise and an informational packet that including the medication detail and the physical therapy rehab protocol. The process was efficient and seamless.

Finally, we would like to know the outcome of your surgery and how you are doing today.

I’m a personal trainer, triathlon coach, and elite-level triathlete.  Needless to say, my professional and personal lives revolve around exercise. Two weeks after surgery, I resumed my full personal training schedule. After following the rehabilitation protocol, I was cleared for exercise and resumed my own exercise program 3-months out of surgery.

A week prior to my evaluation by Dr. Miyamoto, I registered to compete in my first Ironman event (i.e., 2.4-mile swim, 112-mile bike, and a 26.2-mile run). This is no small undertaking for the healthiest of individuals, let alone someone 8-months out of hip surgery. At the time of this testimonial, I am 8 weeks out from the big event (i.e., 07/22, Lake Placid, NY). At my current level of training, I’m averaging 4-5 miles in the pool, 150-200 miles on the bike, and 30-40 miles in my running shoes each week. The previously effected hip is handling the Ironman training program like a champ.

I have no regrets about undergoing the hip scope and my decision to have Dr. Miyamoto perform the surgery. Although the time spent in rehab felt like a step back from my previous level of exercise, it was all worth it. I cannot put a price on the peace of mind the surgery has provided me - not only am I leading the active lifestyle I want to lead, I’m able to do so without compromising my hip’s long-term health. In retrospect, the two steps forward are definitely worth the one step back and Dr. Miyamoto was an excellent choice to guide me through that experience.

Shaun Reddy, MS

Congratulations to Shaun for completing his first IRONMAN competition in Lake Placid, NY on July 22, 2012!!

- Shaun Reddy, MS
Get Reddy Personal Training
www.getreddynow.com

 


 

What was your injury?

I suffered from a torn labrum in my right hip, and eventually underwent arthroscopic surgery (hip impingment) on July 22nd, 2011.

What were the symptoms and difficulty you were having as a result?

When dancing, I often felt a searing pain within my hip socket, especially when turning out. I initially began to experience such pain ten months prior to my surgery, and it became gradually worse as time passed, interfering with my flexibility and other dancing capabilities.

Let us know how Dr. Miyamoto was able to diagnose and treat your injury.

When I first visited Dr. Miyamoto, it was recommended that I receive cortisone injections and an MRI. Consequently, I was diagnosed with a labral tear. I was firstly instructed to be cautious with my injury, but as time progressed and the pain grew less bearable, I chose to have arthroscopic surgery.

Finally, we would like to know the outcome of your surgery and how you are doing today. 

Currently, I am doing exceedingly well. The recovery process following my surgery was tolerable – I attended physical therapy and was provided with exercise machines to use at home regularly. In due time, I was able to dance again and gleaned full use of my hip socket once again. Despite my worries, I did not lose any flexibility or the considerable extent of my turnout.

Megan Kania   Megan Kania

Megan Kania  

 

- Megan Kania

 

 


 

Injury: Labral Tear

My most sincere thank you goes to you for giving me back the quality of life that I most desire. One that is extremely active, almost to a fault. Summer 2008 the pain I had been experiencing in my hip began to worsen. This prompted me to call an orthopedist's I had seen prior for another issue. They scheduled a MRI which showed a labral tear. They recommended cortisone shots. I went through a series of 3 & was given no relief from the pain. As time passed the pain began to truly interfere with my life from vigorous exercise to simply yoga & disruption of my sleep.

Fall of 2009 I went for a 2nd opinion which lead to a 3rd opinion from Dr. "M". He ordered a new MRI which also noted the tear. I was amazed at the time he took to explain to me the options he offered for relief. This wasn't just your 10min office visit. He simply took his time to explain, draw pictures & answer my "stupid" questions. A comfort was immediately felt and being a female, bed-side manner is of the utmost importance. But not only was this felt but a true & honest feeling of warmth & sincerity for what I was going through & possibly about to endure was there too.

We scheduled surgery for January 2010. I did absolutely NOTHING. His staff handled every detail from scheduling, insurance authorizations & post-surgery necessities. Couldn't have asked for an easier process.

Dr "M" also recommended therapists that were near where I lived. I was very impressed with his continued communication with the PT's during my rehab. 4 months to the day of surgery I went for a run with my therapist, Michelle. I was little apprehensive going in but WOW, it felt great! 9 months to the day I completed my first International distance triathlon. I've also been hiking, horseback riding, snow skiing, white water rafting (who would've thought your hip would be involved) & just completed a sprint triathlon with the Army Ten Miler next on the list in October.

There aren't enough words to express my gratitude to you for giving my life back.

Jennifer Johnson 2011 Giant Acorn International Triatholon

THANK YOU
- Jennifer J

 


 

Before having hip arthroscopic surgery, I had been in constant pain for well over a year. The pain started in one area and moved to other muscles within the same area. I had seen multiple doctor's before meeting with Dr. Ryan Miyamoto. I was given a variety of muscular skeletal diagnoses, including hernia, groin strain and lower back/SI joint issues. I went to physical therapy, rested a lot and took over the counter pain medications, all of which did nothing to alleviate the pain. After physical therapy proved unsuccessful, I saw Dr. Miyamoto who immediately suspected a labral tear due to the symptoms I was describing. He sent me for further testing, x-rays, an arthrogram and an MRI with dye contrast. All the tests proved that I did have a fairly significant labral tear, along with a CAM Impingement.

One of the many things I like about Dr. Miyamoto is the conservative medical approach he took before suggesting something as extensive as surgery. I did several more weeks of physical therapy, along with a cortisone shot. Both of these treatments not only proved to be unsuccessful at alleviating my pain, but the pain seemed to get worse. Upon another visit with Dr. Miyamoto, it was agreed surgery would probably be the best recommendation to resolving my issue. In a profession where the “bedside manner” is not always apparent, Dr. Miyamoto and his staff proved very much so that this trait is still existent. They were flexible when scheduling my surgery, took the time to answer any and all questions I had regarding the procedure without rushing me out the door and made what can be an anxious event comfortable and without worry. At the end, my surgery proved very successful. I had a few days of discomfort, but little to no pain post operatively. Dr. Miyamoto's rehab protocol is extensive, but well worth all the work in the end. Once again, Dr. Miyamoto does a wonderful job with follow up appointments in regards to allowing plenty of time to ask questions and also provides honest feedback.

On a personal note, words cannot begin to describe how thankful I am to Dr. Miyamoto. With his help, my determination and perseverance, I feel like I have returned to my former glory and then some. I have lost over 20 lbs, my energy level is so much higher than it was and I truly feel like a brand new person. My quality of life and overall health is the best it has been in years. Not only do I think Dr. Miyamoto is a gifted and talented surgeon, but I have to say what impresses me the most about him is his bedside manner. To highlight just one of the many examples of his personable approach, Dr. Miyamoto held my hand to ease the normal fear I was having as I went under the anesthetic, an action that not only shows the sincere care he has for his patients, but also the humanity that can sometimes be lacking in a profession that sees many faces. I would highly recommend Dr. Ryan Miyamoto for hip arthroscopic surgery. His demeanor and attention to detail set him apart from any other doctor I have ever had.

Christy   Christy

Christy

UPDATE: It has been almost two and half years since my hip surgery. I am now an active runner who enjoys running 5k, 10k and half marathon races. Hill and trail races are my personal favorites because I enjoy a challenge. I am also preparing to run my first marathon. In addition to running, I practice yoga several times a week, and I recently started teaching yoga to CrossFit athletes and trainers. Thank you again, Dr. Miyamoto for helping me get back to the active lifestyle that I enjoy so much!

Congratulations to Christy on completing the Air Force Marathon in Dayton, OH on September 20, 2014!!

Congratulations to Christy on completing the Air Force Marathon in Dayton, OH on September 20, 2014!!

  • American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons
  • The American Orthopaedic Society for Sports Medicine
  • Arthroscopy Association of North america
  • International Society for Hip Artgroscopy